Change Location × Washington DC

    Recent Locations

      Kramerbooks Dinner & A Story w/ author Angie Kim in Washington


      • Kramerbooks Dinner & A Story w/ author Angie Kim Photo #1
      1 of 1
      August 15, 2019

      Thursday   6:00 PM

      1517 Connecticut Avenue
      Washington, District of Columbia 20036

      Map
      Performers:
      • No Performers Listed
      EVENT DETAILS
      Kramerbooks Dinner & A Story w/ author Angie Kim

      Join us for the Kramerbooks Dinner & a Story to discuss MIRACLE CREEK by Angie Kim who will be joining us for the dinner and discussion! The discussion will be moderated by Goodreads Super Reviewer and bookstagram, Chelsea Humphrey (@suspensethrill).  Ticket price includes entrée, dessert, glass of wine, and 15% off next month's book pick (to be announced at dinner). ABOUT THE BOOK: A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng about how far we’ll go to protect our families—and our deepest secrets My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie. He probably didn’t even consider it a lie, and neither did I, at first . . . In rural Virginia, Young and Pak Yoo run an experimental medical treatment device known as the Miracle Submarine—a pressurized oxygen chamber that patients enter for therapeutic “dives” with the hopes of curing issues like autism or infertility. But when the Miracle Submarine mysteriously explodes, killing two people, a dramatic murder trial upends the Yoos’ small community. Who or what caused the explosion? Was it the mother of one of the patients, who claimed to be sick that day but was smoking down by the creek? Or was it Young and Pak themselves, hoping to cash in on a big insurance payment and send their daughter to college? The ensuing trial uncovers unimaginable secrets from that night—trysts in the woods, mysterious notes, child-abuse charges—as well as tense rivalries and alliances among a group of people driven to extraordinary degrees of desperation and sacrifice. Angie Kim’s Miracle Creek is a thoroughly contemporary take on the courtroom drama, drawing on the author’s own life as a Korean immigrant, former trial lawyer, and mother of a real-life “submarine” patient. Both a compelling page-turner and an excavation of identity and the desire for connection, Miracle Creek is a brilliant, empathetic debut from an exciting new voice. ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Angie Kim moved as a preteen from Seoul, South Korea, to the suburbs of Baltimore. She attended Stanford University and Harvard Law School, where she was an editor of the Harvard Law Review, then practiced as a trial lawyer at Williams & Connolly. Her stories have won the Glamour Essay Contest and the Wabash Prize in Fiction, and appeared in numerous publications including The New York Times, Salon, Slate, The Southern Review, Sycamore Review, The Asian American Literary Review, and PANK. Kim lives in northern Virginia with her husband and three sons. Miracle Creek is her debut novel. ABOUT THE MODERATOR: Chelsea Humphrey is a ravenous reader whose love of mysteries can be traced back to her first Nancy Drew experience. She enjoys promoting books of all kinds by providing reviews via Goodreads and social media. You can also find her chatting about her current reads on Twitter and Instagram @suspensethrill.

      Categories: Other & Miscellaneous

      Event details may change at any time, always check with the event organizer when planning to attend this event or purchase tickets.